| 2 minutes read

2 minutes read

No More SSC, RRB, IBPS Exams For Group B, Group C Jobs? Govt Proposes CET

| Published on December 4, 2019

Taking a big step for the Government job aspirants, the authorities are proposing to introduce a Common Eligibility Test (CET) to shortlist candidates for recruitment of Group ‘B’ Non-Gazetted posts, certain Group ‘B’ Gazetted posts, Group ‘C’ posts in the Government.

Govt jobs

Currently, Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts civil services examination annually to select officers of Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Police Service (IPS) and Indian Forest Service (IFoS), besides other Group A and Group B (gazetted) services. If this plan gets passed by higher authorities, a new organisation will conduct CET exams.

Giving details on this, the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions said in a notice:

“At present, candidates seeking government jobs have to appear for multiple separate examinations conducted by various recruiting agencies for posts, for which similar eligibility criterion have been prescribed. These recruitment examinations comprise of multiple layers viz. Tier-I, Tier-Il, Tier-Ill, Skill Tests etc. Ordinarily, the Tier-I examination comprises of a computer-based online multiple choice objective type test.”

Below are the key features of proposed CET:

  • Candidates can apply for CET through an online Portal.
  • Separate CETs will be conducted for the Graduate, the Higher Secondary (12t11 pass) and the Matriculate (10th pass) candidates for non-technical posts for which recruitment is currently carried through the Staff Selection Commission (SSC), the Railway Recruitment Boards(RRBs) and the Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS).
  • The score of a candidate will be valid for 3 years from the date of declaration of result.
    Each candidate will get two additional chances to improve the score, and the best of all available scores will be considered.
  • Final selection will be made through separate specialized examinations which will be conducted by the respective recruitment agencies.

Source: FinancialExpress

Related Posts