Advertise

MM_logo_black

| 2 minutes read

2 minutes read

Burger King Launches A ‘Vegan’ Burger Which The Vegans CANNOT Eat

| Published on January 9, 2020

Burger King has recently launched a new plant-based burger in the UK for its vegetarian/vegan customers. But it is being said that the dish is not suitable for vegans after all. The reason behind is said to be the process by which it is cooked.

The Rebel Whopper comprises a patty made from sustainably sourced soya and was developed in partnership with The Vegetarian Butcher, which produces a range of plant-based meat alternatives. The Whopper’s other ingredients are sliced tomatoes, fresh lettuce, mayonnaise, pickles, onions, and ketchup.

The company admits that its new Whopper is cooked on Burger King‘s signature broiler where its beef burgers are also cooked.

Image result for burger king rebel whopper vegan

However, Burger King has not advertised its Rebel Whopper as a vegan product, and says the dish is aimed for people who primarily eat a vegetarian diet but still sometimes consume meat and fish.

Katie Evans, Marketing Director of Burger King has described the Rebel Whopper as a “game changer.”

Toni Vernelli, international head of communications and marketing at the Veganuary campaign has said that the Rebel Whopper will still be valuable to those trying to eat a more vegan-friendly diet, despite not being 100% suitable for vegans.

Earlier, Burger King had launched an Impossible Whopper in the US which was also said to be vegan friendly. But despite being made entirely from plant-based ingredients, the Impossible Whopper was also not suitable for vegans given that it was cooked in the same broiler as beef and chicken.

The Rebel Whopper, however, is available since 6 January to those with the Burger King app and will be rolled out across stores nationwide two days later.

Related Posts

Mock
Mock

Latest

Mock
Mock